Ford ticket deposits

SLU to Host A-10 Softball Championship

Courtesy: Saint Louis Athletics
          Release: 05/07/2012
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: Saint Louis Athletics
Related Links
ST. LOUIS - Saint Louis University will host the 30th annual Atlantic 10 Conference Softball Championship Wednesday through Saturday, May 9-12, at the Billiken Sports Center. The Billiken Sports Center is located just north of Chaifetz Arena on the SLU campus.

Massachusetts (35-11, 19-0 A-10) is the top seed for the six-team double-elimination tournament, the winner of which earns an automatic berth in the NCAA Championship. The Minutewomen have captured 22 A-10 tournament crowns.

Defending champion Fordham (30-24, 14-6) is the No. 2 seed. The Rams halted Massachusetts' string of six consecutive titles last year.

Massachusetts and Fordham received first-round byes. Wednesday's first-round games match No. 4 George Washington (22-28, 11-9) against No. 5 Charlotte (28-24, 10-10) at 1 p.m. and No. 3 Temple (27-20, 12-6) against No. 6 Saint Joseph's (20-27-1, 9-10-1) at 3:30 p.m. The losing teams will meet in an elimination tilt at 6 p.m.

The top two seeds swing into action Thursday. UMass faces the George Washington-Charlotte winner at 1 p.m., while Fordham takes on the Temple-Saint Joseph's winner at 3:30 p.m. An elimination game is scheduled for 6 p.m.

The two remaining undefeated teams meet Friday at 1 p.m., with the winner advancing to the championship round. Elimination-round games will be played at 3:30 and 6, with the winner of the 6 p.m. contest moving into the championship round.

Should the remaining undefeated team win Saturday's 1 p.m. championship-round game, that team will be the champion. If the team emerging from the elimination round wins, a final game will be played approximately 30 minutes after the conclusion of the 1 p.m. game.

Single-day ticket prices for the A-10 Softball Championship are $8 for adults and $4 for youth (17 and under) and senior citizens. A four-day pass is offered for $12 (adults) and $8 (youth/senior citizens). Students of Atlantic 10 Conference institutions are admitted free with a school ID.
Billiken Softball Players in Nicaragua 2016
Billiken Lore
Shop Now
Buy Tickets
Support Your Billikens
Drury Hotels
The Parking Spot
JED Transportation
Anheuser Busch
UCC Concepts
Edward Jones
US Bank
SLU Care Physicians Group
The Delmar Gardens Family
Schultz and Myers