Billikens Continue Winning Ways to Wrap Up Regular Season
Courtesy: Saint Louis Athletics

ST. LOUIS - Saint Louis swimming and diving took home a pair of wins in the regular-season finale against Eastern Illinois. The men's team won by a score of 141-64 and the women won 126-79. The win is the fifth consecutive dual meet victory for the men's team. The men wrap up the season with a 10-4 dual meet record and the women finish 11-5.

Sophomore Morgan Peterson is also on a winning trend. Against Eastern Illinois, Peterson won the 500-yard freestyle (5:12.39), the 50-yard freestyle (25.23) and the 200-yard medley relay. She has now won 10-consecutive events and has not lost an event in her past three meets.

The men's team competed very well, with eight separate swimmers winning their individual events. Sophomore Patrick MacArt won the 200-yard freestyle with a time of 1:45.44. Sophomore Zack Billingsley won the 50-yard freestyle, touching the wall at 21.39. Freshman Brendan Hulseman continued to thrive for the Bills, winning the 200-yard individual medley by four full seconds with a time of 1:56.17. Senior Will Butzke, competing in his final dual meet, won the 100-yard butterfly in 51.71. Sophomore Patrick May finished first in the 100-yard freestyle at 47.24. Freshman Shane Cano came in at 53.31 to win the 100-yard backstroke. Sophomore Justin Pasquesi won the 500-yard freestyle in 4:47.69. Sophomore Stephen Hansen turned in a time of 58.88 to win the 100-yard breaststroke. The men also won the 200-yard medley relay (1:33.94) and 200-yard freestyle relay (1:25.75) to round out the scoring.

For the women, junior Lizzy Osterman joined Peterson on the podium, winning the 200-yard freestyle (1:56.45) and 100-yard butterfly (58.81). Senior Taylor Streid dominated the field in the 200-yard IM, touching the wall at 2:07.64, nine seconds before the second-place finisher. Sophomore Melanie Battaglia also won an event, the 100-yard breaststroke, with a time of 1:08.82. Sophomore Jalynn Gieseke joined Streid, Peterson and Osterman on the 200-yard medley relay squad that won with a time of 1:49.22.

The Bills will now focus on the Atlantic 10 Conference Championships on Feb. 20-23 in Geneva, Ohio.