Ford ticket deposits
Article Image
Courtesy: Saint Louis Athletics

Jim Crews Named Finalist for Naismith COY Award

Courtesy: Saint Louis Athletics
          Release: 03/20/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

ATLANTA - Saint Louis' Jim Crews is one of four finalists for the 2013 Naismith Men's College Coach of the Year Award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

Other finalists are Gonzaga head coach Mark Few, University of Miami coach Jim Larranaga and Georgetown University coach John Thompson III.

Crews has led the Billikens to a school-record-tying 27 victories so far this season and Atlantic 10 Conference regular-season and tournament titles. He helped keep the team together after the passing of legendary head coach Rick Majerus. Crews, who is in his 25th season as a collegiate head coach, was named A-10 Coach of the Year and Sporting News' National Coach of the Year earlier this postseason.

The finalists for the Naismith Award were determined by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's national voting academy, which based its criteria on the coaches' performances to this point in the 2013 men's college basketball season. The Naismith Men's College Coach of the Year will be announced and honored April 7, 2013, in Atlanta.

Crews and the No. 4 seed Billikens are in San Jose, Calif., where they face New Mexico State Thursday at 1:10 p.m. (CT) in the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

MBB: George Mason highlights
MBB: Billikens at SIU Highlights
Shop Now
Buy Tickets
Support Your Billikens
Drury Hotels
The Parking Spot
JED Transportation
Anheuser Busch
UCC Concepts
Edward Jones
US Bank
SLU Care Physicians Group
The Delmar Gardens Family
Schultz and Myers