Ford ticket deposits
Article Image
Courtesy: Saint Louis Athletics

Evans, Crews to Receive MACís Bauer Award

Courtesy: Saint Louis Athletics
          Release: 12/04/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

ST. LOUIS – Saint Louis senior forward Dwayne Evans and head men’s basketball coach Jim Crews have been named the 2013 recipients of the Carl O. Bauer Award, presented by the Missouri Athletic Club.

The award, which was established in 1978, is presented annually to the top amateur sports figures in the St. Louis area. Evans and Crews will receive the honor at the Jack Buck Sports Awards Banquet on Wednesday, Dec. 11, at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Billiken alumnus Bill McDermott (Mr. Soccer) will receive the Burnes/Broeg Award at the banquet, which goes to an individual who promotes St. Louis through sports. McDermott has been one of soccer’s longest-running active broadcasters, having covered the game not only locally, but world-wide, for more than four decades.

Make reservations now by calling 314-539-4470. The event begins with a cocktail reception at 6 p.m., followed by dinner at 7 p.m. and the program at 8 p.m. The Missouri Athletic Club is located in downtown St. Louis at 405 Washington Ave. The banquet will be broadcast on KMOX radio.

The Billikens are coming off one of their most memorable campaigns ever. SLU posted a school-record 28 victories and captured Atlantic 10 Conference regular-season and tournament championships. The Billikens advanced to the NCAA Tournament for a second year in a row.

Evans led the Billikens in scoring and rebounding. He was a first-team All-Conference pick and was named the Most Outstanding Player of the A-10 Championship.

Evans and Crews are the 11th and 12th Saint Louis University representatives to receive the Carl O. Bauer Award, which is named in honor of the MAC’s Athletic Director who brought innovation and inspiration to the Club during his 45 years of service. Former SLU honorees are Mike McGinty (2012), Anne Kordes (2009), Cheryl Levick (2006), Marque Perry (2003), Doug Woolard (2002), Larry Hughes (1998), Erwin Claggett, Scott Highmark and H Waldman (1995) and Anthony Bonner (1990).

MBB: George Mason highlights
MBB: Billikens at SIU Highlights
Shop Now
Buy Tickets
Support Your Billikens
Drury Hotels
The Parking Spot
JED Transportation
Anheuser Busch
UCC Concepts
Edward Jones
US Bank
SLU Care Physicians Group
The Delmar Gardens Family
Schultz and Myers