ST. LOUIS – The Saint Louis field hockey team held its team banquet last month at the Il Monastero Building on the SLU campus. 

The Billikens showed marked improvement in 2017. Their four wins were the most since 2008. Additionally, SLU defeated Indiana in nonconference play, the first time since 2001 that SLU defeated the Hoosiers.

SLU head coach Danielle Baumgardner, who wrapped up her second season leading the Billikens, took time to recognize SLU's five graduating seniors: Morgan Crowe, Katie Moss, Emily Myers, Hanna Smith and Carli Wolfe.

Four awards were also given out by the coaching staff.

Bentley-Gibson Award
Named after Maya Bentley and Caitlin Gibson, the two graduating seniors of the 2016 team, this award is given to a senior who has shown immense growth throughout her career.

2017 Bentley-Gibson Award Winner: Senior Hanna Smith

Billiken Award
This award is given to a player who has excelled in the classroom, the field and in the community.

2017 Billiken Award Winner: Junior Jess Dunlap

SLUper Woman of the Season Award
Following on from the theme of the season after reading The Hard Hat by John Gordon, this award was given to a player that reflected the qualities the team had learned throughout the season.

2017 SLUper Woman of the Season Award Winner: Freshman Noor Kalf

Karen Shearin Award
This award is presented in honor of alumni Karen Shearin, who lost her courageous battle with cancer in August 2017. The award is given to a player who reflects the characteristics of Karen – a selfless and hardworking individual who inspired others to do their best, and understands that it takes a team to win. The award was presented by her sister, Angela, who was joined by her two daughters and her mother.

2017 Karen Shearin Award Winner: Freshman Jordan BeSore