Click here for the complete Watch List

ST. LOUIS – For a second consecutive year, Saint Louis University’s Alli Klug (Webster Groves, Mo./Nerinx Hall H.S.) has been named to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List. The announcement was made today by United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club.


Klug, who last season became the first Saint Louis women’s player to be named to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, is joined by 60 other NCAA Division I women’s soccer players on the 2019 Watch List. The senior defender is one of 31 returning All-Americans, and the only Atlantic 10 Conference player, on this year’s list.


The MAC Hermann Trophy, presented by World Wide Technology, is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding female and male players of the year. This year’s winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 10, at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.


Klug helped lead the 2018 Billikens to A-10 regular-season and tournament championships, an NCAA Tournament berth and a school-record 18 victories (18-4-1, including 10-0-0 in conference play). She garnered United Soccer Coaches All-America (second team) plaudits for a second straight season, repeated on the United Soccer Coaches All-East Region and A-10 All-Conference first teams, and earned a second consecutive A-10 Defensive Player of the Year award.


Klug’s performance along the back line helped lift Saint Louis to the top of the A-10 in goals against average (0.60) and shutouts (school-record-tying 13, including eight vs. A-10 opponents). The Billikens were 18th in the nation in both categories. She played a team- and career-high 2,078 minutes and was on the field every minute of all but one game. Klug and her teammates allowed just 5.35 total shots (school record for fewest shots allowed, 123), 2.74 shots on goal and 2.13 corner kicks per game.


The MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists are compiled by members of the United Soccer Coaches Women’s and Men’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees. Based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches, 15 semifinalists will be named for both the women’s and men’s MAC Hermann Trophy Dec. 3. From those candidates, three finalists will be placed on the ballot Dec. 13 for each of the coveted awards.